Chief Post Office dome under construction
Photograph Production date
Circa 1939 See full details
The Chief Post Office building was constructed between 1938 and 1940 and was opened in December of 1940. The roof boasts a dome of one thousand six hundred and sixty clear glass lenses of eight inches (approx 200mm) diameter. The dome was constructed using several layers to support the whole until the setting material had hardened. This photo shows the timber former being overlaid with cement, sand and cow hair to provide a mesh. At the top of the photo is seen the smoothed finish.
Secondary production person and role
Be the first to comment.