Chief Post Office official opening day
Photograph Production date
1940s See full details
After the official opening Mr W B Young (left wearing hat) and Mr F Hawkins to his right, stand together in the front of the main doorway. The Chief Post Office was opened on the 2nd December 1940. It was built of Hinuera stone in the 'modernistic style' by Hamilton's W B Young. It boasts a unique glazed dome containing 1660 lenses. In 1987 the postal counter became known as 'Central' causing confusion between 'Chief Post Office' & 'Central counter'. The building is now owned by SkyCity and houses a casino, bars, restaurants and a bowling alley.
Secondary production person and role
Be the first to comment.